KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a Meeting of the Kent County Council held at County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 21 June 2007.

PRESENT:
Mr L B Ridings (Chairman)
Mr P W A Lake (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, Mrs C Angell, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr T J Birkett, Mr R H C Bliss, Mr A H T Bowles, Mr D L Brazier, Lord Bruce-Lockhart, Mr J R Bullock, MBE, Mr R B Burgess, Mr C J Capon, Mr A Chell, Mr L Christie, Mr B R Cope, Mr A D Crowther, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mr J A Davies, Mrs T Dean, Dr M R Eddy, Mr K A Ferrin, MBE; Mr C G Findlay, Mr M J Fittock, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr T Gates, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr W A Hayton, Mr C Hibberd, Mr P M Hill, OBE; Mr D A Hirst, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr G A Horne, MBE, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr I T N Jones, Mr A J King, MBE; Mr R E King, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr C J Law, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr T A Maddison, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr J I Muckle, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, DL, Mr M Northey, Mr R J E Parker, Mr R J Parry, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr A R Poole, Dr T R Robinson, Mrs E D Rowbotham, Mr G Rowe, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr D Smyth, Mrs P A Stockell, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E Tweed, Mr M J Vye, Mr C T Wells, Mr B P Wood and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

IN ATTENDANCE:- The Chief Executive, Mr P Gilroy, OBE and the Director of Law and Governance, Mr G Wild.

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 17 May 2007 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. Chairman's Announcements

Mr P Raine, Managing Director Environment and Regeneration

- (1) The Chairman informed the Council that this was the last meeting that Mr Raine would be attending prior to leaving the County Council. Various Members paid tribute in respect of Mr Raine's services.
- (2) RESOLVED that the County Council places on record its appreciation and thanks for the loyal and efficient service rendered to the Council by Mr Raine.

Lord Bruce-Lockhart

The County Council congratulated Lord Bruce-Lockhart on his appointment as Chairman of English Heritage.

3. Questions

Under Procedure Rule 1.18, 9 questions were asked and replies were given. Question 2 fell as Ms Cribbon was not in attendance at the meeting. 4 questions remained unanswered at the end of thirty minutes and written answers were given.

4. Report by the Deputy Leader of the Council

The Deputy Leader updated the Council on the budget under-spend; the Turner Contemporary; European Business Community Congress; the County Show and the Council's progress on its CPA.

5. KCC Annual Plan 2007-08

- (1) Mr A J King MBE moved, Mr K A Ferrin MBE seconded, that the Annual Plan 2007-08 be approved.
- (2) Dr M Eddy moved, Mr G Smyth seconded that the following words be added to the recommendation:-

"and notes the overall high standard of performance and instructs the relevant Managing Directors to present performance improvement plans for all those local and national performance indicators which are in the lower quartile, and below or at the median."

(3) The amendment was put to the vote when the voting was as follows:-

For - 17

Mrs C Angell, Mr T Birkett, Mr L Christie, Dr M R Eddy, Mr M J Fittock, Ms E Green, Ms A Harrison, Mr C Hart, Mr I T N Jones, Mr T Maddison, Mr J I Muckle, Mr R J E Parker, Mr A R Poole, Mrs M Newell, Mr W V Newman, Mrs E Rowbotham, and Mr D Smyth.

Abstain - 4

Mr B R Cope, Mrs T Dean, Mr S J G Koowaree and Mr M J Vye.

Against – 42

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr A R Bassam, Mr R Bliss, Mr D L Brazier, Mr J R Bullock, Mr R B Burgess, Mr A D Crowther, Mr M C Dance, Mr J A Davies, Mr K A Ferrin, Mr C G Findlay, Mr J B O Fullarton, Mr W A Hayton, Mr P M Hill, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr M J Harrison, Mr C Hibberd, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr T Gates, Mr R W Gough, Mr G A Horne, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr A J King, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, Mr K G Lynes, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M Northey, Mr R J Parry, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr L B Ridings, Dr T R Robinson, Mr G Rowe, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mrs P A Stockell, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E Tweed, Mr C J Wells and Mr F Wood-Brignall.

Lost

(4) RESOLVED that the KCC Annual Plan 2007-08 be approved.

6. Appointment of Independent Members for Standards Committee

RESOLVED that a new recruitment process for independent people to serve on the Standards Committee and Member Remuneration Panel be undertaken and the terms of office of the existing independent Members be extended until such time as the Council makes new appointments.

7. Standards Committee Annual Report

- (1) The Chairman moved, the Vice Chairman seconded, that the report be received and the new draft Code of Conduct for Members be adopted.
- (2) Dr M Eddy moved, Mr L Christie seconded, as an amendment that:

"all agenda for meetings of this Council should have as standard on those agenda an item at which all Members can declare or raise any issues concerning possible personal and/or prejudicial interests."

- (3) Dr Eddy, with the consent of his seconder and the Council agreed to withdraw this amendment following an assurance by the Deputy Leader that an item on Declaration of Interest would appear on all agenda in the future.
- (4) During discussion the Deputy Leader agreed to a request by Mr L Christie that Members' Declarations of Interest be published on the website.
- (5) The Council received a presentation by Mr J Ogden, Chairman of the Standards Committee, on the new Code of Conduct.

(6) RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the report be received;
- (b) an item on Declaration of Interests be placed on all agenda in the future;
- (c) Members' Declarations of Interest be included on the website together with their Annual Reports; and
- (d) the new draft Code of Conduct for Members be adopted.

8. Tour de France

RESOLVED that the report be noted and event be supported.

9. Minutes for Information

Pursuant to Procedure Rules 1.10 and 1.19A the Minutes of the Planning Applications Committee and Regulation Committee were noted.